AEG Upgrade Question

Mission Forums PF Gear Talk AEG Upgrade Question

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    crossbow
    Keymaster

I received a question from a PF Friendly, Ryan who ran with us at MSW’s DO Event.

QUESTION:
    Dennis my goal with my rifle is to make it shoot either just under MSW rifleman fps limits or make it a dmr. With the suppressor I can fit a 510mm barrel. My cylinder, piston, piston head, and nozzle are all stock and don’t have a very good air seal. Should I get a cylinder without a port? And do you have any recommendations for what brand and type of parts to buy? I want something of good quality, but not real expensive. Thanks Dennis.

FEEDBACK –  I’m not a expert but do have a fair amount of experience collected from my own experiments, members of the team and other airsofter’s I respect.  I think this is more than you asked for and most you may already know … but I hope this helps.

FPS LIMITS:
    The MSW limits are pretty standard so its a good goal to shoot for. If you don’t have a chrono, I suggest buying one and always chrono with quantity ammo, min weight you should be shooting is 0.25.  If you decide to go the DMR route a mechanical lock-out for full auto is required (one that can’t be removed in the field)

Pistols, Shotguns, GBBR, AEGs & LMGs: 1.5 Joules
    6mm: 400fps w/0.20g, 366fps w/0.25g

DMR/Sniper Rifles: 2.8 Joules (Minimum engagement distance 100ft)
    6mm: 550fps w/0.20g, 490fps w/0.25g

CYLINDER PORT- At 510mm for the barrel, I would NOT use a ported cylinder, above 550mm barrel length calls for a cylinder bore-up, I have never messed with that.  There are a lot of forums out there on this subject if you wish to do more research.

AIR LEAKS – Air leaks can be a real bitch to solve, don’t try to overcompensate by using a strong spring, it will only end up breaking things.